Other Resident Paper Competition Winners

2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023

Resident Paper Competition — 2023 Award Recipients

Picture of clincal first prize winner Dr. Aashish Rajesh. Picture of clincal second prize winner Dr. Luke Verlinsky. Picture of clincal third prize winner Dr. Ronit Patnaik.
Drs. Aashish Rajesh, Luke Verlinsky, Ronit Patnaik


1st place ($500) – Dr. Aashish Rajesh (General Surgery)
Surgical Outcomes of Vertical Rectus Abdominis Myocutaneous Flap Pelvic Reconstruction

2nd place ($250) – Dr. Luke Verlinsky (Orthopaedics)
Relationship Between Construct Design and Subsidence in Intraarticular Distal Radius Fractures

3rd place ($100) – Dr. Ronit Patnaik (General Surgery)
The Hispanic Experience in Living Donor Liver Transplantation (LDLT) – Outcomes from a Single US Center


Picture of basic science first prize winner Dr. Ankur Tiwari. Picture of basic science second prize winner Dr. Angela Le Atkinson. Picture of basic science second prize winner Dr. JC Myers. Picture of basic science second prize winner Dr. Shirley Nah

Drs. Ankur Tiwari, Angela (Le) Atkinson, JC Myers, Shirley Nah.

Basic Science

1st place ($500)– Dr. Ankur Tiwari (General Surgery)
Combination of CDK 4/6 Inhibitor Palbociclib with Rapamycin Synergistically Inhibits Growth of Hepatocellular Carcinoma in Preclinical Models

2nd place, 3-way Tie ($200 each)
Dr. Angela (Le) Atkinson (General Surgery)
The Effect of Listening Speed on Comprehension: Are You Sacrificing Comprehension by Speeding Up?
Dr. JC Myers (General Surgery)
Transfusion-Related Cost Comparison of Trauma Patients Receiving Whole Blood Versus Component Therapy
Dr. Shirley Nah (General Surgery)
mRNA Expression Profiling Identifies MACIS-derived Differentially Expressed Gene Signatures in Aggressive Stage T1 Papillary Thyroid Cancer