36th Annual Meeting of the J. Bradley Aust Surgical Society

June 3-5, 2010 (Thursday, Friday, and Saturday)

Welcoming back the graduates of: 2005, 2000, 1995, 1990, 1985, 1980, 1975, 1970.

General Information

dingbat  Meeting location and accommodations

The Westin La Cantera Resort & Spa

A block of rooms has been reserved at The Westin La Cantera Resort at 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, Texas 78256. The single/double occupancy guest room rate, subject to availability, is $199/night plus taxes and fees.

The cutoff date for reserving rooms in the Room Block is 5:00 p.m. CST on May 16, 2010.

To make a reservation, please call (210) 558-6500 or 1-800-WESTIN-1 (1-800-937-8461) and let the representative know you are attending The University of Texas Health Science Center/J. Bradley Aust Surgical Society Annual Meeting.

About the hotel:   The hilltop site of a former limestone quarry in the scenic Texas countryside is the unique locale for The Westin La Cantera Resort, San Antonio — the ambience of a remote country inn, plus resort luxuries and a dash of Lone Star character. The peaceful rural backdrop is ideal for a round of golf, poolside lounging, some tennis, or a spa visit. For a change of pace, explore San Antonio and the surrounding Hill Country for historic sights, exciting theme parks, great shopping, and more. Rooms and suites in warm, earthy colors with rustic details in wood and classic wrought iron recall the great ranches of historic Texas.

dingbat  2009-2010 Excecutive Committee

Dr. Craig Daniel, President
Dr. Mario Rossbach, President Elect
Dr. James Field, Vice President
Dr. Thomas Pollard, Senior Member at Large
Dr. David Dyslin, Junior Member at Large
Dr. Bruce Conway, Past President
Dr. Martha Wills, Immediate Past President
Dr. John Myers, Secretary/Treasurer
Dr. Arthur McFee, ex-officio
Dr. Ronald Stewart, ex-officio

dingbat  Concept and Objective

This course is developed to bring graduates up-to-date with ongoing cutting-edge research and activities in the field of surgery. Housestaff research presentations affect this aim.

An honored guest discusses two major surgical considerations for the current year. Photo Our 2010 honored guest is John L. Tarpley, MD, Professor of Surgery and Program Director, General Surgery Residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee. Dr. Tarpley is also Assistant Chief of Surgical Service, Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

Additional focus topics in this annual meeting include: General Surgery Cases with Panel Discussion, General Surgery Updates, and International Medicine.

Time is allotted for questions, answers, and discussion of presentations between alumni and faculty.

dingbat  Accreditation

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint sponsorship of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Medical School (UTHSCSA) and JB Aust Surgical Society. UTHSCSA is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

UTHSCSA designates this educational activity for a maximum of 11.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


dingbat  Meeting sponsors

This meeting is jointly sponsored by the J. Bradley Aust Surgical Society and the School of Medicine of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.



Click here information on past meetings.


Top of page